I dislike rap. I dislike vegetables. What do these two things have in common? Music is a lot like food. What you put IN your body/mind, is what comes OUT of your body/mind.

When you turn on the radio, it’s a lot like walking up to the buffet at Ryan’s. You have a large selection of various foods and food groups. You can be quickly be bombarded with the selections of salad, Mexican, Italian, steak, ice cream, cake, etc.

I love tacos, burritos, and spaghetti. But, when I eat Italian or Mexican food, I end up with heartburn, acid reflux, stomach ache. The temporary pleasure from the flavor is taken over by other feelings that are not so pleasant.

The same can be said for music. If I listen to death core metal with satanic lyrics, and vulgar language, even if I enjoy the music, quickly that momentary pleasure will be replaced with darker feelings. I may not even realize it.

There is nothing inherently evil about any certain type of music. But not all things are good and proper for all people. I have friends that have written screamo worship songs. I don’t get it, and it doesn’t speak to me. But they connect to God through it.

Now, let’s back up my “theories” with Biblical evidence. According to 1 Corinthians 10:23, all things are legitimate [permissible–and we are free to do anything we please], but not all things are helpful (expedient, profitable, and wholesome). All things are legitimate, but not all things are constructive [to character] and edifying [to spiritual life] (Amplified Bible).

We can eat any food we want to. But we live with consequences; whether its weight gain, cholesterol, heartburn, or other issues. When you listen to that CD, or turn on your radio, do you feel better? Do you smile? Do you connect with the music in a way that makes you better understand your life? If so, that’s great. But if you turn it on, and you are pulled down into feelings of depression, anger, pain, violence, or doubt, maybe it’s time to change the channel.

And next time you’re at the buffet, remember the consequences.

“Whatsoever inneth you heart, cometh outta you face.”

Shout your praises to God, everybody!
Let loose and sing! Strike up the band!
Psalm 98:4 (The Message)

